Life Reflections. I Need a Drink.

A while ago, a friend who works in the same industry as me said something to me which has just stuck fast in my head.

She said, “Do you ever get the feeling we’re making the world a worse place?”

I work in marketing, a career I stumbled on after chopping and changing study paths for a while. It was never really a plan, it just kind of happened and I still haven’t decided if this is it.

One of my majors is Political Science and that was actually the original plan. I had no idea what I was going to do with it, something along the lines of aid worker or diplomat. And somehow that plan kind of fell away and I was left with four years of university BA knowledge and not a single, tangible skill. Hence how the marketing post-grad happened.

Some of the people I studied with took their politics major and went on to study law or work for NGO’s. One of these friends had a birthday the other day and we spent a good few hours chatting about political situations around the world, our upcoming elections, the Thai protests, the situation in Sudan.

It was the most useful I have felt in a long time and I realised how much I MISS politics and current affairs. I read the news daily and obsessively (there is always a news tab open in my browser) but it doesn’t give anywhere near the same satisfaction as being surrounded by people passionate about the world, who breathe the news every day.

At 25 I am suddenly feeling old and angry at myself for all the time I have wasted so far.

One thought on “Life Reflections. I Need a Drink.

  1. I loved this post! I have been thinking similar thoughts lately (different careers but same essence). I have realised that at the end of the day, its never too late for change if you have the right attitude :) I hope whatever you decide to do in the future, you keep on blogging. You have a great way with words and I love reading your blog!

    Louise
    xx

Leave a Reply

