An Upside Down Head.

In an attempt to evolve my home decor concept past the point of everything-animal-themed, I’ve come up with a new thing:

Prints, Patterns and Plants.

(Also, wood and baskets but it doesn’t sound as catchy when I say all that.)

What this pretty much means, is that this year Santa will be receiving the link to Skinny laMinx’s 2013/2014 Lookbook, in lieu of an actual list.

It’s kind of an awkward time for me to be obsessing over home decor. I have two months left on the lease of my flat and, so far, have made no plans to move anywhere else. Come 1st January, I’ll be safely ensconced in my childhood home again with my adult life packed up in boxes in the garage.

67be0f6bc26541c5ff5b7df4ebe978c9

f11c78c99e605ca1520263464a1ef07b

So this is why I decorate my home with proteas (my favourite flower and not only because they’re amazingly cheap and never die), peace-in-the-home in a glass jar and big spekboom which cost me R17.95. I am disproportionately proud of my spekboom.

I keep entering all these great competitions to win Kitchen Aid mixers and fancy stoves and this glorious bathtub, only mildly aware that should I win the stuff I would have nowhere to put it. I mean, there’s only so much stuff my parent’s garage can store.

c9cd44233e4cd831926823bf79a9ac01

a5241d8302ee0d33eb80e3260e448a24

I am craving my own space. I am craving adventure. I am craving stability and love and I am craving wild, impulsive chaos. I don’t know if I’m coming or going. I flip between House and Garden and Airbnb with impressive speed. My mind is everywhere.

I’m not looking for a new place because I want to, so badly, live in Sea Point. I can’t afford Sea Point. I can’t afford anywhere, alone, but the hassle of finding a roommate is just so off-putting. Especially when I have a bed I love, in a home that is mine . With my cat and my dogs and my parents all around.

Your mid-twenties are the most confusing age, I’m finding. It’s the most I’ve ever felt like an adult and I still feel like a child. It’s the bridge, between one life and another. My peers are getting married around me and I am both jealous and relieved that it’s not me. I have all these names floating around my head and I can’t decide if I can use it on a pet or if I should keep it for a future child.

When will that be, anyway? In five years or ten?

God, I really need to do something with my freedom. Work overseas. Live on a beach in Malaysia for six months, creating stories to tell my grandkids one day.

Are you allowed to live at home when you’re 25?

5 thoughts on “An Upside Down Head.

  1. When I moved to Cape Town 6 months ago, I never dreamed it would be in Sea Point. Yes – I have had to have a room mate because it’s nearly impossible to do it by yourself unless you’re a trust fund baby. Jokes.
    I was just saying the other day that my Facebook timeline only shows: engagements, weddings and baby showers. Gone are the days of hangover cures and hours of getting ready at a mates house for a Saturday night out. Good grief – I feel old as I type that!
    OK let me get back to topic… your twenties are here for all these questions. It’s the decade to explore, be adventurous and figure out what you want and don’t want. I turned 30 in February this year and I’m LOVING it… My 20s were exactly that and while I am still figuring some things out I’m much more at peace now with certain things.
    I don’t think we ever feel “grown up” – I remember being a “tween” looking at girls (women) my age in awe with their heels, mascara and car keys jingling and I remember thinking: “They’re so sophisticated! I can’t wait to be grown up and sophisticated like that!” …. and I’m still waiting to feel that. I still feel like I’m playing dress up – but it’s fun and all part of this journey we call life :-)
    Thanks for such a though provoking post… For someone who rarely comments – I apologise for the ESSAY here!!
    xxx
    Much love, Bailey from Vanilla Blonde

    • Last year I was still a student. My friends lived in digs, most people relied on their parents to pay their rent and my part time job paid for my fun. It’s like life got too really very quickly. My parents would never turn me away, but there is more peer pressure now to stand on your own two feet. Which isn’t a bad thing, it’s just a bit overwhelming.

  2. I lived with my parents after dropping out in the middle of my third year at Rhodes. For quite some time. Then I moved around a bit but came back to live with them when I was about 26. Then I lived in Thailand for a year before moving back to stay with them before moving to the Eastern Cape. Where I fell pregnant and then had to move back to live with them because 7-months-pregnant is not a great look on a student/waitress. It’s been seven years and if I don’t get this raise I just asked for today I’m either going to have to live in Grassy Park or go back to my parents!

    Clearly I’m no poster child for anything.

    I’m just saying it still happens.

    Now excuse me while I go and take a long, hard look at my life.

    ;)

    • The thing is, life is so expensive these days. Aside from rent (or bond/ property rates), you still need to factor in electricity, groceries, cleaning products. And that’s just the basics. Since writing this I’ve heard about several people my age and older who are moving ‘home’ to save money.

      And as for your story, you have such exciting things to tell people at dinner parties! i’m terrified of getting to fifty and when people are telling hilarious stories of their mispent youth, all I’ll have to say is, “I went to university, then to another university, then started working and have never left Cape Town.” How dull.

Leave a Reply

