Remember When Everyone Used to Fill Out Those Facebook Note Things?

A couple of days ago I wrote about how I am uncomfortable with sharing too much of my personal life on this blog. I share the  happy stuff but the dark stuff I refer to only briefly and never really in detail.

Browsing through some of my favourite blogs I came across this post by Natalie, creator of Tails of a Mermaid. She shares a similar sentiment here and to make up for her lack of sharing, she completed this little questionnaire thing.

So I thought I’d do it too.

Why not, right.

Then I decided it was far too long for my attention span, so I went and had a look at all my old Facebook notes and found this to do instead.

(Four reasons I cannot remember or even stab a guess at, I labelled this note ‘mustard’. Small ‘m’. 2009 Kirst was odd.)

For funsies and to compare, I’ve left my twenty-year-old-self’s answers and my new answers (relevant to me now or since then) are in bold.

Getting to know Kirst

THREE NAMES I GO BY
1. Kirsten
2. Khristy (pron. cry- stee)
3. Gurks 

1. Kirst
2. Kirsty
3. The Jolly Jammer 

THREE JOBS I’VE HAD
1. waitress
2. toy shop assistant
3. publishing and admin assistant

1. Events Waitress
2. Bookseller and Store Supervisor
3. Digital Marketing Account Executive

THREE PLACES I HAVE LIVED
1. cape town
2. berlin
3. stellenbosch

1. Newlands
2. Hout Bay
3. Wynberg

THREE TV SHOWS THAT I WATCH
1. gossip girl
2. house
3. big bang theory

1. Grey’s Anatomy
2. New Girl
3. Newsroom

THREE PLACES I HAVE BEEN
1. austria
2. france
3. italy

1. Dubai
2. England
4. Spain

THREE PLACES I WANT TO GO – (that I haven’t yet been)
1.Thailand
2. greece
3. mozambique

1. Shanghai
2. NYC
3. Kenya

THREE OF MY FAVORITE FOODS
1. Sushi
2. bread
3. chinese food

1. Wakaberry frozen yoghurt
2. Dad’s snoek braai
3. Mom’s lamb stew

THINGS I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO
1. goldfish at spier
2. a reprieve from varsity stress
3. thailand (if it happens)

1. The long weekend
2. The Franschoek Literary Festival
3. Travelling. I don’t know where or when yet. But I can’t wait.

THREE PETS THAT YOU HAVE OWNED
1. my cat, Ginger
2. all 7 of the family dogs
3. a few goldfish

1. Ginger
2. The dogs
3. My rabbit, Simon (RIP)

THREE BANDS/ARTISTS YOU LISTEN TO LATELY
1. goldfish
2. MIA
3. googoo dolls

1. Toya De Lazy
2. Jeremy Loops
3. Rodriguez

THREE FAVORITE DRINKS
1. frozen latte, over crushed ice (not cubed)
2. soft drinks
3. grape juice

1. Frozen latte
2. Scheckters Organic Energy Drink
3. Strawberry juice

THREE CARS I HAVE OWNED
1. elvis, the tata
2. (i’m only 20)
3. (havent had time to own more than one car)

1. Elvis, the Tata
2. (I’m only 24)
3. (Can’t afford a new car yet)

THREE PEOPLE YOU ADMIRE
1. oprah winfrey (for her success)
2. Nelson mandela (for his morality)
3. me

1. Everyone involved in law enforcement or the emergency services. I have been on the other side. What they do is incredible and, mostly, unappreciated.
2. My grandfather, for his youth despite his age.
3. Me, for who I am.

Leave a Reply

