Diary Of An Infinite Girl

Monday, 9:38 p.m.

Weight: Only my trainer knows and she’s not telling. Not even me.
Cigarettes: None. One.
Alcohol: N/A
Food: Ha! We’ll be here all day.

I’m reading a new old book. the perks of being a wallflower by Stephen Chboksy. The lack of capital letters in the title is his choice, not mine.

It’s not really an adults book even though that’s where I found it. But quite frankly, it’s not about the book. I’m not even sure I could tell you the storyline other than it’s a thirteen year old shy kid starting high school and discovering a  side of life he doesn’t comprehend.

It’s about the writing. Chbosky has a way of putting together sentences. Of playing with words and creating images out of obscure descriptions, but you know there has never been a more perfect way of saying it.

So, this is my life. And I want you to know that I am both happy and sad and I am still trying to figure out how that could be.

He has, I do believe, shot to the top of my list of favourite writers.

Current standings:

  1. Stephen Chbosky, the perks of being a wallflower.
  2. J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter. (Because I will never outgrow it).
  3. John Green, Looking for Alaska.
  4. Capt_PicKLes, A Bullet Laced In Anger. (He blogs).
  5. Danny Wallace, Charlotte Street.

Sometimes it’s about the story. And sometimes, it’s about the way you tell it.

And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.

I’m not sure what it means yet. I’ll let you know when I’ve figured it out.

Today was. Hard. That’s not the right word exactly. I had coffee with him and I realised, not for the first time, that when the conversation steers in the direction of his life at home my heart beats just a bit faster and eye contact suddenly becomes less appealing.

The remnants of love?

Perhaps. I think though, that it is just a reminder of a betrayal by the one person I never thought would.

Trust. It’s a tricky thing.

2 thoughts on “Diary Of An Infinite Girl

  1. Pingback: Never Judge a Book by it’s Film Adaptation or a Song by it’s Cover. « The Jolly Jammer

  2. Pingback: The Reading List | Part 2 | The Jolly Jammer

Leave a Reply

