The Dr Seuss Challenge

Theodor Seuss Geisel. Better known as Dr Seuss. Even better known as one of my all time favourite writers.

There are lines from his books I would have tattooed onto my body. If only I could decide which lines.

Below I have included a poster that we had in the shop for a while. Some his greatest quotes. Amazing how much sense and depth there is to his gibberish stories.

Perhaps his most famous book of all, and I say that hesitantly, is Green Eggs and Ham . Some of you may already know, some of you may not, that this book came about as a challenge. The Cat in the Hat consists of only 225 unique words. The good doctor’s publisher bet him that he couldn’t write a book using less than fifty unique words.

And our man took that challenge. And wrote a bestseller. Using exactly fifty words, forty nine of which are monosyllabic.

Inspired? I am.

I’m looking for your stories. Your tales and poems and general scribblings. Write me something, using fifty or less unique words. I will too.

Winner gets bragging rights for a year.

Leave a Reply

