I don’t trust normal people

I remember learning in a psychology class at varsity that one of life’s greatest conundrums is the fact that because we are all unique, that makes us not unique. We share the common trait of uniqueness which negates the uniqueness. I think it was the argument of a famous psychologist but right now I can’t be bothered to Google who.

It’s my favourite thing about people, finding out what little quirks they have. The things that make us weird and inherently unique.

I don’t trust normal people.

Everyone is a little bit weird. My thing is shower curtains.

I hate shower curtains.

I wont touch them and they can’t touch me. I will shower with the curtain open and mop uncomplainingly afterwards. Hotels and potential new homes are judged harshly on their bathrooms. I would kiss the feet of the person who invented the shower door.

My friend Lu, on the other hand, doesn’t seem to have any issues with shower curtains but she only wears one sock to bed. Just the one.

I love it, it means she’s just as weird as I am.

I have more. I’ll make you a list:

  1. I hate shower curtains
  2. I don’t want garlic anywhere near me
  3. The smell of apples makes me car sick
  4. Grey hair is incredibly sexy
  5. I sleep on my stomach, head facing right, right leg pulled up to my boobs

There’s more but I don’t want to give away all the mystery …

Leave a Reply

